BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums Off-Topic Discussions Board Buy to live in or buy to rent out?

01-04-2018, 09:19 AM   #1
Never_Enough
Banned
United_States
Rep
Drives: Satan's Chariot 2.0

Garage List
Question Buy to live in or buy to rent out?

I've been house shopping for myself, but lately thinking perhaps it would be a better idea to buy something with the sole purpose of renting it out to generate income for myself.

I have zero experience with being a landlord or buying property to rent.

If I went to the buy to rent route, whatever I bought would be considerably less than what I would buy to live in. So we're likely not talking about the affluent areas in my tri-county area.

Am I going to be biting off more than I can chew if I buy something to rent out?
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2018, 09:57 AM   #2
smoosh
fight me bro
Rep
Drives: slut whisperer

Buying to rent out can generate a good source of stable income. However, a lot things you have to consider and evaluate before you go this route.

First, where are the properties located? Is the neighborhood growing and population in the area is increasing? I’ve flipped (well, bought, repaired, and rented out) houses before; I’d buy a run down home in a well-populated area, make the necessary repairs, and rent it out. I’d look for homes in areas surrounding large cities, evaluate the state of the neighborhood, and determine profitability by performing a simple cost-benefit analysis. One thing you have to consider in your cost-benefit analysis is what, if any, repairs might be required during tenancy. Also, if you plan on being the landlord, buy in a location in somewhat close proximity to you. You will run into issues during tenancy (e.g., water leakage) that’s too costly and unnecessary to have repaired via a contractor, and you know you can make the necessary repairs yourself. You’d want to be able to drive right over.