BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW Z4 Forums (G29) BMW Z4 (G29) General Forum Z4 M40i dyno issues due to the ZF8 transmission

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-14-2019, 12:06 PM   #1
Joe240
Major
Joe240's Avatar
United_States
680
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 2020 Z4 M40i
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pensacola

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 Z4 M40i  [0.00]
2019 BMW X3 M40i  [0.00]
Z4 M40i dyno issues due to the ZF8 transmission

Yes, I know this has been beated with a stick throughout these forums on the 2 series. But I'm hoping someone can provide some insight and allow me to get a good dyno run for once.

Car: 2020 Z4 M40i (rwd with mLSD and ZF8)

Issue: Car throws errors on RWD dyno such as chassis stability, parking brake malfunction, and some others. Scanner reads these codes: P152B, P152A, U0418, C0501, and C0507. P152A is showing as a permanent code, but scanner clears everything and turns off the CEL. P152A reads "Vehicle speed, plausibility: Minimum speed under load not reached." To me, this sounds like the speed sensor is in the front wheels and tripping all stability control, causing loss of power and automatic up-shifts at 3k rpm.

Resolutions attempted: Turn car on (not in chassis dyno mode), sport+, manual shift, DSC off (held traction button). Throws all of these errors and has the same outcome. Manual mode auto upshifts at 3k rpm with loss of power.

Also tried to put in chassis dyno mode. Since this is a digital cluster and no button in the bottom left like the older analog clusters, had to use new method to get into chassis dyno mode. Car in Accessory mode (one press of IGN), then pressed 3 times quickly to put in diagnostic mode (otherwise the care doesn't allow changing of functions on the cluster). Hold "BC" button on left stock for 15 seconds. Menu pops up in the cluster. Press BC button to select Chassis Dyno (no numbers next to it, but it is the 3rd option). Hold BC button on Chassis Dyno. Screen changes to say "Chassis Dyno/DSC off?" Hold traction button to disable DSC. Press BC button to confirm Chassis Dyno/DSC off. Cluster menu closes and cluster says "Test Mode! Turn off ignition to exit." Try doing the pulls and same issue arises.

Once the errors come up on the dash, the vehicle appears to not be allowed into Chassis Dyno mode anymore. It does not provide the "Test Mode!" confirmation shown above. Scanner has to be connected and codes all cleared to get the display to show Chassis Dyno mode confirmation again.



Really hoping someone else on the forums has ran into this same/similar issue and is able to provide some assistance. I've had the car on 2 different dynos from different businesses, both having the same issues. One was a dynamometer and the other was a mustang dyno. The mustang dyno allowed us to do the run in, but stopped the run in at 125mph and told to coast down. Might have been due to the 2020 z4 models wasn't an option so we had to select a 2019 z4 sdrive30i (same gearing and tire options so theoretically should have worked).
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 04:20 PM   #2
bedboy
New Member
3
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 330i
Join Date: May 2005
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

You have to put car on dyno mode
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 05:48 PM   #3
Joe240
Major
Joe240's Avatar
United_States
680
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 2020 Z4 M40i
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pensacola

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 Z4 M40i  [0.00]
2019 BMW X3 M40i  [0.00]
Guess you skipped the paragraphs. I said I tried chassis dyno mode and still getting the errors
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 05:58 PM   #4
IllSic_Design
Major
IllSic_Design's Avatar
United_States
603
Rep
1,225
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

The odd thing is there is a German guy on youtube that got the new A90 Supra already and tried to dyno it and was having the same issue, it wouldn't rev to redline and it would auto shift for him even in manual mode and dyno mode. Doesn't make since for the Supra since it is only 2wd, whereas I can see why your AWD is having issues on rwd only Dyno. Seems like there is a bug or something in the software.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 06:50 PM   #5
XMetal
Colonel
XMetal's Avatar
United_States
455
Rep
2,293
Posts

Drives: Anything
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 Z4M Coupe  [0.00]
2004 X5  [3.50]
People have such short attention spans these days. Why do people even bother replying to a post without fully reading it first?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bedboy View Post
You have to put car on dyno mode
The car WAS put on dyno mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by IllSic_Design View Post
The odd thing is there is a German guy on youtube that got the new A90 Supra already and tried to dyno it and was having the same issue, it wouldn't rev to redline and it would auto shift for him even in manual mode and dyno mode. Doesn't make since for the Supra since it is only 2wd, whereas I can see why your AWD is having issues on rwd only Dyno. Seems like there is a bug or something in the software.
Where does it states that the Z4 M40i have AWD?
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 07:30 PM   #6
gary_william
Private First Class
155
Rep
104
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Vancouver, WA

iTrader: (0)

Car and driver article 5.21.19 says they had to strap it to the Dynojet all when drive dynamometer.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 07:31 PM   #7
gary_william
Private First Class
155
Rep
104
Posts

Drives: 2013 128i
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Vancouver, WA

iTrader: (0)

https://www.caranddriver.com/news/a2...no-horsepower/
Appreciate 1
gblansten786.50

      06-14-2019, 07:54 PM   #8
Joe240
Major
Joe240's Avatar
United_States
680
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 2020 Z4 M40i
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pensacola

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 Z4 M40i  [0.00]
2019 BMW X3 M40i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary_william View Post
Car and driver article 5.21.19 says they had to strap it to the Dynojet all when drive dynamometer.
Knew they completed a dyno run, didnít know they used an AWD dyno. Iím thinking Iím gonna have to do the same, but the nearest one is almost an hour away. Youíd think Chassis Dyno mode would disable the speed sensors on the front wheels since itís a RWD car, but apparently not >.<
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2019, 02:48 PM   #9
IllSic_Design
Major
IllSic_Design's Avatar
United_States
603
Rep
1,225
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMetal View Post

Where does it states that the Z4 M40i have AWD?
Yeah I don't know what I was thinking, was thinking of the m340 xdrive when I wrote that. Durp
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2019, 03:18 PM   #10
Joe240
Major
Joe240's Avatar
United_States
680
Rep
1,075
Posts

Drives: 2020 Z4 M40i
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Pensacola

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 Z4 M40i  [0.00]
2019 BMW X3 M40i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by IllSic_Design View Post
Yeah I don't know what I was thinking, was thinking of the m340 xdrive when I wrote that. Durp
Haha np. I came from a m240ix and wasnít sure if I had updated my car in the sig and garage.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.




bmw
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST