BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums Off-Topic Discussions Board Video + PC Gaming / Computing Anyone run a simple, reliable NAS at home?

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-09-2021, 03:27 PM   #1
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
6301
Rep
6,910
Posts

Drives: 2016 MB GLC300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Anyone run a simple, reliable NAS at home?

I've been looking at NAS enclosures, but I only need a central place to back up documents and images. I don't need or want cloud access and I don't stream video. If I have to create an account with some company to use the device, I don't want it. A simple 4-6TB mirrored setup would work. And some decent cross-platform backup software from the NAS.

Any recommendations? Experiences?
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"There is no shame in dropping fruit in your glass."
-UncleWede
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2021, 03:51 PM   #2
vreihen16
Recovering Perfectionist
vreihen16's Avatar
United_States
5253
Rep
669
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW i3 BEV
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Orange County, NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
My love-hate relationship with Synology has been posted here before.

The unit that I bought last spring (DS918+) is using Synology's "business" backup function to back up my Amazon AWS virtual servers to local disk, back up my Raspberry Pi collection, serving as a TimeMachine network backup target for the Macbooks, and running Docker containers for HOOBS/HomeBridge, my UniFi network controller, and a Pi-Hole DNS server for ad/malware/Farcebook blocking.

Synology and most of the competition is based on Linux under the hood, and most of the hate part of my love-hate relationship is prompted by me (a *very* experienced Linux admin) tinkering under the hood.....
__________________
2015 BMW i3 BEV, Giga World (Lodge interior), Tech/Driving Assist Packages, 20K miles
Appreciate 1
M_Six6300.50
      04-09-2021, 03:54 PM   #3
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
6301
Rep
6,910
Posts

Drives: 2016 MB GLC300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

I was looking at Synology devices, but a few reviews I read claimed that you had to create an account with them to install and config the OS. Is that not true?
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"There is no shame in dropping fruit in your glass."
-UncleWede
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2021, 06:20 PM   #4
vreihen16
Recovering Perfectionist
vreihen16's Avatar
United_States
5253
Rep
669
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW i3 BEV
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Orange County, NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I created a Synology account to access tech support on my first unit when I bricked it. I recall being able to skip adding an account on the DS918+ when I configured it last year. Here's a snapshot showing that it is not connected to the Synology mothership and what [useless-to-me] features won't work as a result:

Name:  000-Screen Shot 2021-04-09 at 6.54.19 PM.png
Views: 289
Size:  518.2 KB

One of my important considerations was that Synology is based in Taiwan, not China. The two countries are NOT friends, and I feel safer using something that might be phoning home to Taiwan versus China.

Synology has a full-featured demo of their DSM interface online, if you want to poke around and see all of the features. Just keep in mind that some features (like Active Backup for Business) are only available on the "plus" models, and the "J" models are missing several features that I would use. Hence, my upgrade from the DS216j to the DS918+ last spring.

Oh, and it is probably worth mentioning that I have had zero problems with 4TB Seagate IronWolf NAS-grade hard disks in either Synology unit. I haven't been a fan of Seagate all the way back to the ST-225 artificial reef fiasco in the 1980's, but these are Synology's preferred drives and are winning me back after Western Digital's dishonesty about shingled disks a few years ago.....
__________________
2015 BMW i3 BEV, Giga World (Lodge interior), Tech/Driving Assist Packages, 20K miles
Appreciate 1
M_Six6300.50
      04-10-2021, 08:12 PM   #5
TurboSid
Brigadier General
TurboSid's Avatar
535
Rep
3,084
Posts

Drives: 2017 M4 MW/SO ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 335i  [0.00]
I've used a Synology 8-bay in my office for years and its been solid. We mainly use it for Raid backup and file transfer/access within the office so no need for the extra features.
__________________


2017 MW/SO M4 ZCP [SOLD]
2015 MW/SO M4 M-DCT FBO [SOLD] 2011 AW/CR 335is DCT FBO [SOLD] 2008 AW/CR 335i 6MT FBO [SOLD]
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2021, 01:16 AM   #6
JasonDot
Private First Class
JasonDot's Avatar
273
Rep
177
Posts

Drives: '21 Z4, '17 X3 and '20 330i
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

I also recommend Synology...even though one server died on me, (7 years 24/7 operation.) Luckily some Synology systems are forward-compatible rendering 100% data recovered in the crash in my example.

Having a NAS at home is bliss. Couldn't be without one.
__________________
Appreciate 1
vreihen165252.50
      04-16-2021, 03:51 PM   #7
dreamingat30fps
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
2150
Rep
1,551
Posts

Drives: Model 3, Mustang GT, F350
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Florida & NC

iTrader: (1)

I have a Qnap. It works for my needs although it probably has all the stuff you don't want. You can always just build your own if you really don't want any bs on it.
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2021, 04:02 PM   #8
POBEP
Second Lieutenant
POBEP's Avatar
United_States
87
Rep
205
Posts

Drives: E70 E90 E91
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Christmas Valley, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
I've been looking at NAS enclosures, but I only need a central place to back up documents and images. I don't need or want cloud access and I don't stream video. If I have to create an account with some company to use the device, I don't want it. A simple 4-6TB mirrored setup would work. And some decent cross-platform backup software from the NAS.

Any recommendations? Experiences?
(Macmini + USB3 External Hard-drive) x2 into different geo locations with rsync over IPSec tunnel.

Why?
- external hard drive is easy to replace
- macmini could be replaced with anything similar (without tying you to NAS software)
- support for afp/smb/ftp/ssh/rsync/you-name-it
- very low real world power consumption
- if you do not like macos you can run linux on it too
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 2
vreihen165252.50
M_Six6300.50
      04-16-2021, 10:00 PM   #9
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
6301
Rep
6,910
Posts

Drives: 2016 MB GLC300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

^^^I like it. I have a Mac Mini server now with dual 1TB drives in it. And when I clear out my office in 2 weeks, I'll have two 3TB externals to find a home for. This could all work out nicely.
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"There is no shame in dropping fruit in your glass."
-UncleWede
Appreciate 1
vreihen165252.50
      04-16-2021, 10:35 PM   #10
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
6301
Rep
6,910
Posts

Drives: 2016 MB GLC300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

If you don't mind my asking, what is that?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"There is no shame in dropping fruit in your glass."
-UncleWede
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2021, 10:57 PM   #11
POBEP
Second Lieutenant
POBEP's Avatar
United_States
87
Rep
205
Posts

Drives: E70 E90 E91
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Christmas Valley, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
If you don't mind my asking, what is that?
Cable modem (SB6141)
Appreciate 1
M_Six6300.50
      04-16-2021, 11:13 PM   #12
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
6301
Rep
6,910
Posts

Drives: 2016 MB GLC300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by POBEP View Post
Cable modem (SB6141)
Ah, ok. So this is all your IT stuff and not just the NAS array. Got it.
__________________
Mark
markj.pics

"There is no shame in dropping fruit in your glass."
-UncleWede
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 PM.




bmw
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST