BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BIMMERPOST Universal Forums Off-Topic Discussions Board Any real-estate agents here?

01-08-2014, 07:11 PM   #1
Who?
Colonel
Australia
Rep
Drives: F87 LCI

Any real-estate agents here?

Hey guys, Im currently an architect and am considering a career change.
what are you experiences and opinions on the profession, and what key skills are required?

Also do you think there will be any transferrable skills i can leverage on from architect to realtor?

I appreciate the input guys.
      01-08-2014, 07:59 PM   #2
jlstyle
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: Porsche Panamera

Garage List
2014 Audi S7  [0.00]
2015 BMW X5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashman View Post
Architect requires college and training. A real estate takes a licensing test.

You have to have strong sales skills as a realtor. Not sure if it would be an easy transition. Also the housing market is still fairly depressed. Why would you would get into it now?

I think an architect would be more in demand.
Because architects are paid garbage.

OP, I was an architect and I've recently quit my job and started on my own. I now focus on conceptual design and consulting rather than trying to be part of magazine feature piece bullshit.
And since then, I've making more than double and finally have a real life.

I'm also very interested in real estate but not as a realtor but as an investor.
I just bought my first home to test out my investor skills while using my background to renovate a house. I'm interested in getting a real estate agent license once I do enough transactions to cut the commission.
But switching a career from an architect to a realtor is a very dangerous one.... Poor job to poor job. People say some realtors make alot of money, and that is very true but so does superchitects.

And I'm sure you have less competitors in architecture field then real estate field while chances to become successful could be higher in real estate field.

Good luck.