F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance and TSBs: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / TSBs and Service Bulletin > I was working my on rotors and Caliper Piston popped out...
proTUNING Freaks

07-03-2020, 04:24 PM   #1
WillGood Hunting
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 BMW F30 328i Sedan

I was working my on rotors and Caliper Piston popped out...

Hi,
I have some confusion I need cleared up. This is my first time having to work on this. I was replacing my rear rotors and pads on my F30. Through my overwhelmed distractions on my next steps, I accidentally pumped the brakes without the calipers hooked up with pads inside and one of the pistons popped out of it's spot but not out of the rubber sealed area. The other seems to have stayed pressed down in the caliper.
Noticing this and trying to refit the piston back in, I managed, in it's extended position yet a bit of Brake fluid out spewed out.
I need to press the piston back down into the caliper so I can finish my work but it won't budge. I'll probably open the bleed screw which could let me press the piston down. Will this process also expel any air that possibly got inside? Will I only need to turn on the car and check of the brake fluid reservoir to see if it's within range of Max-Min?
Some tips and help would be awesome. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2020, 04:36 PM   #2
Billfitz
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: '15 328iX GT

When doing a pad change I retract the pistons with a C clamp. You can buy a tool made for the job, but it's still basically a C clamp. You usually don't need to bleed brakes after doing pads, but in your case you should.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2020, 09:00 PM   #3
johnung
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 BMW 335i x-Drive Auto

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trill Clinton View Post
Hi,